Haiti

January 19, 2010 at 8:00 am (Uncategorized)

I have never been to Haiti, but since the earthquake I sort of feel like me heart has been there and I have been here.  No, that’s not entirely accurate.  The actual day of the quake and the next day I had a migraine and I was barely functioning.  I honestly don’t think I knew about the earthquake for a full 30 hours after it happened.  But, the minute I heard one name came to my mind…R*****.  You see my friend R***** is a missionary in Haiti.  She is actually an online friend I met through an online Mom’s group I have been in for 10 years.  Pretty much everything I know about Haiti I have learned from R*****.  So when I heard, and I got my wits about me, I ran to my computer and started searching emails, blogs and anything else I could find for news on R***** and her family.  Since I came into the whole thing so late after the earthquake within a half hour I read the wonderful words "We are alive!"  I can’t tell you what those words meant to me at that moment!  There were many, many tears. 

So once I knew my friend and her family were alive what could I do?  I prayed.  I prayed and prayed and prayed….I am still praying.  Of course that is a lot, but it’s not enough!  Once I had a Paypal link to the Christian school where my friend and her husband work I emptied out my Paypal account into theirs.  (It wasn’t much, but it was a little thing I could do.)  And I continue to pray….

Meanwhile the next day my daughter reminds me that one of our friends from American Girl Club is going any day with her Dad to pick up her new brother and sister from Haiti!  More frantic emails and more prayers later we learn that our friends adoptive children are also safe!  Praise the Lord!  But, they are stuck in Haiti!  Yes, they are legally adopted.  (Soooooooooo close to coming home.)  And yet they do not have visas, so they are stuck.  We are praying, praying praying for them too!  Right now we have heard that they are safe, they have food and water and their adoptive parents are working feverishly to get them home.  Please join me in praying for them!

With all this said I wish like anything there was more I could do!  Last night I was reading my emails and I got one from one of my favorite blogs Skip to My Lou.  She is feeling the same as me.  I can do so little.  But, she came up with a great idea!  If you send her an email and tell her what you have done to help Haiti she will send you an adorable valentines cupcake decorating set.  You can learn all about it HERE

If you have not yet made a donation to help in Haiti I have an offer for you! Please go the website of the school where my friend works and make a donation. They currently have a hospital set up in the school, are housing orphans, passing out water and food and touching the souls of the Haitian people. I promise you the money sent to them will get to the people of Haiti!  Then you can email Skip to My Lou and get your free cupcake set!

Most of all please continue to pray.  The one thing that resounds in my heart through all the stories my friend has told me about the Haitian people is that they are strong, loving and resourceful.  I have to believe that God is going to bring great things out of this great tragedy.

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

2 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    Some of the kids have been granted emergency-type visas and were allowed out of Haiti last night. Do you know if your friends' kids were in that first group?

    Please keep us updated! Meanwhile we'll keep praying!

  2. 4sweetums said,

    I am glad that the people you know of are ok. We are praying and donating. I know how you feel. We wish we could do more.
    Blessings,
    Dawn

Leave a Reply

