American Girl Club Week 2 – Kirsten 1854

January 20, 2010 at 8:53 am (Uncategorized)

Last night was week 2 of Kirsten.  In the book we read this week Kirsten has to memorize a poem to recite in front of her classmates.  I figured this was a great opportunity for the girls work on their public speaking!  So, I emailed all the mom’s 2 weeks ago and asked them to have their daughter memorize a poem or Bible verse to share with the group. I am SO proud of the girls!  Every single one of them memorized something and presented it!  They did an AWESOME job!

Here is my daughter doing hers.
Here is the poem she chose…

I Must Remember
By: Shel Silverstein

I must remember,
Turkey on Thanksgiving,
Pudding on Christmas,
Eggs on Easter,
Chicken on Sunday,
Fish on Friday,
Leftovers on Monday.
But, ah me I am such a dunce.
I went and ate them all at once!

For craft this week we made a Midsummers Wreath.  These are they wreaths that they decorate and put on the majstång (Translated into English as the Maypole, although the celebration is NOT in May.)  in Sweden to celebrate Midsummer. (Or the day of the year when the sun never sets!)

Working on their wreaths…

Lots of flowers and ribbons = lots of FUN!

Pretty smiles!

After our craft we had Swedish Meatballs for snack. (Thanks to IKEA!  LOL) 

Then the girls started their rag rugs.  The rag rugs will be our ongoing project for the whole 6 weeks.  I bought 38 yards of fabric for 20 girls.  So they should be able to get a decent size rug made. To make these they braiding three 1 inch strips of fabric together then rolling it into a coil and stitching it into a rug. 

One of the mom’s ripping fabric into strips.  I am SO blessed to have all these wonderful mom’s who help me SO, SO much!

Girls and mom’s working together…

Girls working together….

Girls working with their feet!  LOL

My daughter working on her rug.

It was another great night of American Girls Club!

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

American Girl Club Week 1 – Kirsten 1854

Leave a Reply

