Adding Scrapbook Pages To Our Lapbooks

February 10, 2010 at 8:22 am (Uncategorized)

Sometimes when we are doing a study that includes a lapbook we have a lot of other projects/experiences that aren’t flat and or small enough to fit in our lapbook.  In a couple of our lapbooks we have included scrapbook pages with pictures of the things we have done.  One example of this was the American Girl Lapbook my daughter did for Felicity.  After we ended up going to Colonial Willamsburg we decided to add pictures from our trip.


For this we printed pictures from my Creating Keepsakes Scrapbook program and then put them in 8 1/2’X11′ page protectors.  On the folder that is the back of the lapbook I marked the 3 holes on the page protector, hole punched them (I used my scrapbooking eyelet punch to make the holes.), and then I used ribbon to tie the pages into the book. (With about 1 yard of ribbon thread from the back to front through the top and bottom holes.  You will go through the folder and the page protectors. Then from the inside both ends of the ribbon will go back through all the layers to the back again through the middle hole. Once you get back to the back of the folder you can tie it off and you are done!)

The backs will look like this when you are done.

On the Felicity lapbook we added 4 page protectors for a total of 8 pages of pictures!


For our Little House in the Big Woods lapbook we also wanted to add pictures.  This time I uploaded the pictures to the Walgreen’s photo website.  Then I had them print a collage page.  This is the one I had printed for my daughters lapbook.
This was nice because I could fit a lot of pictures on one page and I could pick the background color to match our lapbooks.  The program online at Walgreen’s automatically places the pics and you can keep switching them around until you get them the way you like them.  You can also add a title bar if you want to the bottom or top of the page.

The collage pages from Walgreens cost around $3.00 each.  It’s a little confusing because as best I can tell they don’t have a place to just go make the collage pages.  You have to upload your pics, then when you try to go check out it will pop up automatically.  Once I made one I had to put it in my cart, sign out, re-click the pics I wanted for the second one and then the collage generator came up again.

I also had a 5’X7′ printed for my daughters book of her in her Pioneer times costume.

My daughter loves to get out her Felicity lapbook and look through the pictures.  Then she also looks at the lapbook and reviews what she learned while doing our study on Felicity.  I know both of the littles will enjoy seeing the pictures in there Little House in the Big Woods lapbooks for years to come! Review is always good!

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

2 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    You can usually find the photo collages under "photo gifts" on the Walgreens site. With the mouse pads and coffee mugs and such. It took me forever to find them, I kept looking under the prints.

    Great ideas 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

  2. jaminacema said,

    Thank you for telling me I could find them in gifts! I just checked and you are exactly right! That will make creating them much easier!

Leave a Reply

