American Girl Club – Addy 1864 – Week 2

March 17, 2010 at 8:53 am (Uncategorized)

Week 2 of Addy was SUPER busy!  We started out the night with a Spelling Bee!  I had emailed out a list of spelling words last week for the girls to study.  Since the girls range from Kindergarten to 6th grade we split them in 2 groups.  (K-3 and 4-6)  We did a double elimination so that the girls wouldn’t be out if they missed only one word.  They all did really well!  It was nerve wracking for many of them, but I think overall it was a good experience.  I made certificates of participation for them at this website:

http://www.123certificates.com/makeit/spelling.php

After the Spelling Bee I read to them from the book If You Lived at the Time of the Civil War and Welcome to Addy’s World: Pages 8 – 11 and 28 – 33.

Next I showed them the abacus I made and explained to them a little about how it works.  We also passed around a little slate like Addy would have used in school along with her abacus.

Finally it was time for our craft! This week we made an appliqued pillow.  There was a great picture in the Welcome to Addy’s World book of a quilt that had been made by a slave.  It had appliqued pictures of Bible stories on it.  I showed that to the girls to inspire them.  Then I turned them loose with fabric, thread and felt!

The girls working on their pillows.

Stuffing!

A few of the finished (or almost finished) projects!

For snack we had
Black Eyed Peas and Buttermilk Biscuits. They were great!

So that was week two of Addy!

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

American Girl Club – Addy 1864 – Week 1

1 Comment

  1. ZHodges said,

    My girls and I just started reading the AG series and Addy is our first one. We enjoyed it so far.

    We used "If You Lived As A Slave" as our guide. It's really along the lines of what happened to slaves. So, it's good to read Addy and be reminded of what we read in the book.

    I plan for us to do some kind of celebration after each book. We're almost finished our discussion on slavery. I'll be back on here with some ideas and feel free to check me out too. LOL
    My main blog is http://www.ourhodgesfamily.blogspot.com. You can go on my homeschool blog through it. Just click on W.I.F.E

Leave a Reply

