Lapbook Organizing

March 18, 2010 at 8:25 am (Uncategorized)

Awhile back I gave a quick 15 minute talk about organizing lapbooks at our monthly homeschool meeting.  I have been meaning to post the info here too, so here it goes!

Here are the basics…

When we start a new lapbook I print out all the pages and put them in a folder.  If all 3 kids are doing different lapbooks they each get their own folder.  If the littles are both doing the same one I put all the copies in one.  Then I also put a gallon sized ziploc bag in the folder with the appropriate child’s name on the bag.  This is where their finished booklets will go. 

Next I decide how long I want them to take working on this lapbook.  I count the number of booklets and divide it by the number of days.  Then I write a note in the folder letting the kids know how many booklets they need to do per day. 

During school time when we are ready to work on our lapbook we have a bag that we keep all our lapbooking supplies in. 


In this bag we have:

packing tape
double sided tape
other scrapbooking adhesives (Whatever I have gotten cheap at Big Lots.)
crayons
color pencils
scissors
stapler
staples
pencils
Sharpies
templates to make letters
templates to make lines in booklets (Bought these in Target Dollar Bin)
Stamps to make lines on booklets (Bought these at Michael’s Dollar Bin)
glue sticks
ribbon
brads
Little booklet of Bible verses (Kids use this often to find a verse to add to their lapbook.)

Once the kids have completed all their booklets we have a bin of folders for them to chose folders from.


Once they have selected their folders we work together to lay out the booklets and place them inside.  Honestly my daughter is much more interested in this process than the boys are.  Often I end up putting the booklets in for the boys. :^)

To store our completed lapbooks we use these cardboard magazine holders from IKEA.  They work great and they fit on a bookshelf nicely.  We have 7 of these filled after 4 years of lapbooking!


That is pretty much it!  One of the things I love about lapbooking is how simple it really is!

If you have felt intimidated to start a lapbook I hope this helps to simplify things.

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

1 Comment

  1. Anonymous said,

    Awesome!

    ~ Jamie

Leave a Reply

