Passover 2010

April 7, 2010 at 7:40 am (Uncategorized)

One of the things we did during Spring Break was to celebrate Passover.  This is the 4th year we have observed a Messianic Passover Seder, and the first year we have done it on our own.  I am very glad we had the chance to attend other Passovers before we did our own.  I was a little bit intimidated with the amount of prep work there was to do,  but well worth it in the end.

Here is our Passover table set and ready to go.

Our Passover teaching plate.

Wash basin and pitcher to be used in the Urchats. (Washing of Hands)

Wine and juice ready for the filling of the 4 cups.

My family ready for Passover. :^)

My husband washing each of the children’s hands.

Our youngest…

Our daughter…

Our oldest.
This is the part of Passover where Jesus washed the feet of the disciples at the Last Supper.

Here is my husband leading us through the Haggadah.

Breaking the bread.

:^)

These are the covers I made for our Matzo.
You don’t have to have these.  You can wrap the Matzo in white napkins.  I just thought it would be fun to have the covers.  I realized after I made them that they were suppose to be made of white fabric.  I told the kids that is the beauty of being saved by grace.  We don’t have to get this all right! God knows our hearts and if we go to Him in a spirit of worship He will appreciate our efforts. There were other things we didn’t get "right" too.  Like we obviously didn’t wait for sundown to start and I completely forgot to set the place for Elijah.  Other than that I think we did pretty well.

My oldest serving the family by refilling our cups.

My husband getting ready to hid the Afikomen.

My rent-a-kid reading Isaiah 53:1-12.

My youngest following along with the Haggadah

My daughter reading the 4 questions.

My little man trying the horseradish from the teaching plate!  LOL 

The kids looking for the Afikomen.

And the winner is!

My littles helping to clean up by blowing out the candles and spilling juice all over! :^)

It was a WONDERFUL evening!  I loved it as much or more than the other years we have done it.  It was so meaningful to have our family all take part in the evening.  It is a very hands on type of worship. 

We also had our full meal during the Seder. 

Here is what we ate:

Matzo Ball Soup – Made by my 15 year old
Italian Baked Chicken – Made by myself and my daughter.
Grilled Asparagus
Baked Potatoes
Kugel – Made by my rent-a-kid.
Pineapple
Charoset – Made by my kids and rent-a-kid.
Matzo
Dessert – Chocolate Covered Matzo

If you would like to learn more about celebrating the Messianic Passover you can read a Haggadah HERE. (The Haggadah is the order of worship for the Passover.  It takes you through step by step.)

You will find my posts from past years we have celebrated Passover below:

Passover 2006
Passover 2007
Passover 2009

You will find our Passover Lapbook HERE.

We also listened to this online version of Dayenu when the Haggadah called for us to sing it.  Then we just read through the words since we didn’t know the song.

Happy Homeschooling and NEXT YEAR IN JERUSALEM!

Jamin

Leave a Reply

