Mowing

April 12, 2010 at 6:06 am (Uncategorized)

I never thought I would write a post about mowing….but then again I never thought my 9 year old daughter would LOVE to mow!  LOL  I think it’s similar to the way I LOVE to iron.  (Yes, I LOVE to iron!)  There is just something satisfying about taking something messy and making it look good again! 

Here are some pics of our little princess mowing!

And yes, as you can see we do NOT have a power mower!  This is by choice.  We LIKE our reel mower.  It is as easy to use as a gas or electric push mower, but it’s not LOUD and it doesn’t stir up dust the way the power ones do. (You can see my girl is getting a good workout too!)

I thought this picture was funny because the neighbor kid is driving his little electric car for fun and my daughter is pushing a mower for fun! LOL  It’s all in how you train them I guess! 

The reel mower also becomes a conversation piece with the neighbors.  We have had neighbors come over and offer to loan us their power mower!  They just can’t believe we chose this one!  LOL  Little do they know how many out-of -the-box choices we make! (Homeschooling, Home Birth, homeopathy, etc.)

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

2 Comments

  1. Cara said,

    That does look like fun. Even my 15-year old (who was reading over my shoulder) thought so. I've always thought it would be neat to have a manual mower; but, with 5 acres to mow, it just isn't practical here. There are 5 of us, so we could do an acre each, right? (Not!) LOL!

    I wish I could borrow your love of ironing. Alas, it is not a chore that I love!

  2. Anonymous said,

    My grandfather LOVED his reel mower–he only stopped using it when he couldn't find anyone to sharpen the blades anymore.

Leave a Reply

