The Vegetable Garden

May 6, 2010 at 8:39 am (Uncategorized)

I keep waiting for the veggie garden to be "finished" so I can post pics of it.  I realized last night that this is probably going to be a constant "work in progress", so here is what we have so far!


In the raised beds we in the front we have beans, squash, carrots, onions, peas, watermelons and probably other things I am forgetting.  The "tomato towers" have tomatoes, peppers, lettuce and herbs.  The raised bed (in progress) against the fence goes almost all the way to the back fence.  It will house 15 tomato plants, zucchini, pumpkins, etc, etc. etc.  There are also topsy turvy’s on the patio with strawberries and I think more peppers.

We are to the point now where every time we leave the house we come home with more seeds! 

It goes like this:

Husband:  "Oh look, cucumbers!"
Me:  "We don’t really use many cucumbers.  I don’t think we need to plant them."
Husband: "Okay, I will just plant 2 then." 

LOL

For those of you who sent me sweet messages about how I amazing it is that I garden with the children…I have a confession.  My contribution to the garden mostly consists of me pointing and giving my opinion about things.  My husband and the kids do ALL the work.  I will also be there for the harvest!  (Oh, I did buy and place those nifty little red, white and blue pin wheels!)

It’s been a lot of fun to watch though!  90% of what they have planted has been started from seeds.  So the littles are getting a lot of pleasure out of experiencing the miracle of growing their own food.

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

2 Comments

  1. genamayo said,

    It looks wonderful!

  2. Anonymous said,

    I enjoy your creativity and fun posts so I have nominated you for the sunshine award at my blog http://www.tjsmusings.org . Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

