Abraham or Abraham Lincoln?

May 10, 2010 at 8:54 am (Uncategorized)

My 2 littles were in a play yesterday at church.  The play was all about God’s promises and at the end each of the kids was suppose to say the name of a person in the Bible and the promise God gave them. My 6 year old’s line was "Abraham – I will bless you and make you a great nation." Saturday night right before bed my little man is practicing his lines one last time with me and he says…"Abraham Lincoln – I will bless you and make you a great nation…Aaaachhhoooo!"

WHAT?????

At first I just laughed and told him not to be be so silly!  But the more I thought about it the more I became amazed at how smart he is! It occurred to me that he probably had no idea who Abraham was in the Bible. However he knows A LOT about Abraham Lincoln, especially that he helped to make "this" a great nation. (A year ago right now we were in Washington D.C. and he learned a LOT about Lincoln!) And when does he hear "bless you?" When he sneezes! I occurred to me that he probably wasn’t doing it to be funny. He was just trying to make sense of what he was told to say.

After he finished practicing the rest of his lines I asked him if he knew who Abraham was?  He told me he thought it was Abraham Lincoln.  So I explained to him about Abraham in the Bible and we also talked about what it means to be blessed by God.

In the end it was all very funny and interesting. It also reminded me how important it is to discuss with the kids what they are learning.  One of the things I love about using a literature based curriculum (Sonlight) is that we stop a lot while we are reading and I ask the kids questions about the stories.  It is really interesting to see how they use the knowledge they already have to "fill in the blanks" of what they don’t know.  Do they get it 100% right every time?  No.  But, that is why we are taking the time to discuss things.  After I see what they think they know I can give them the information they need to make the right connections.  Plus it’s really interesting to see how they put things together.

Tomorrow I will hopefully post a few of the pics from the play.  It’s was awesome!  (I must admit I was a little nervous about my 6 year old being given a microphone and put on stage in front of the whole church!  LOL)  But, it turned out great!  Both of my littles (and all the kids!) did an awesome job! I just need to find the time to upload the pics and resize them all.

Happy Homeschooling,

Jamin

P.S. Here is one pic that a friend took and sent me.  Don’t they all look SO cute!

1 Comment

  1. www.ShadyBayouAcademy.Blogspot.com said,

    HA HA HA HA HA! Too cute!

Leave a Reply

